Believe it or not. That distinction (at least for land animals) belongs to the majestic ostrich. Its eye is even bigger than that of an elephant! I guess if your best defense is actually running, you really need a good eye to keep a lookout on your surrounds. And NO, they do not bury their heads in the sand! I always laugh at that saying when it comes up . . . as how in the world can they breathe if they really did that!!

IMG_0315
Ostrich looking quizzically at us in South Africa

And just another science trivia then whilst we are at it. The ostrich’s eye is REALLY bigger than its brains. But I guess that does not really mean much. It has a big enough brain and just the same a big enough eye. So, that is my photo for this weeks challenge on “eye spy”. I hope you enjoy it.

For more, checkout the photo challenge site on wordpress here.

