Just when I thought I am done with Adelaide, I decide to put up one more post of our last day. It was just a few hours before we had to head off to the airport, so we figured we might as well hang around in the city. In a previous post, you would have seen the pigs at Rundle Mall. Here are some more photos of various spots in the city. I leave it up to you if you think it is worth a visit

image
This is the war memorial in Adelaide just along one of the main streets
image
Crosses on the grounds around the memorial are put there by various battalions and squadrons.
image
I found them quite simple and yet moving as a tribute to those who gave their lives for the nation
image
If you walk too quickly past, you will miss that there is a little doorway to inside the memorial. Here you find engraved into the walls names of those who gave their lives.
image
Not far from the memorial, is the South Australian Museum. It has a fascinating section on aboriginal history and culture with black and white videos. Most captivating. I could’ve sat and watched the many video clips they had.
image
Some interesting sculptures which we thought were seats at first from afar. But they are mini water features which spill over the sides.
image
Then just next door is the South Australian art gallery. They had football exhibition on. But really, they have all kinds of art on display here from modern edgy works to the classics and even aboriginal. Almost like something from everyone.
image
The classics section with masterpieces in three separate halls.
image
Aboriginal basket weaving work. An almost lost art which was brought back to life.

So, I thought I could not end my trip in Adelaide without touching on some of the other sights. After visiting them, I wished we had spent a bit more time there. Maybe next time . . . .

