Dubai can certainly turn on the bling. Ultra luxury hotels, Mega resorts and if you fancy some skiing after a tough day in the desert, they even have that too. So, my expectations were sky high today when I landed at Dubai international airport flying Emirates to connect to another flight. I don’t know what I was thinking but Singapore Changi was somewhere in there.

image
Multiple floors are serviced by striking glass lifts

 

So after disembarking from the flight, I was surprised to find everyone from other flights were all being funneled into long queues for airport screening. Erm . . . . what’s with that? Didn’t we all get screened before we boarded our flights? Or do they just want to make doubly sure before you enter Dubai.

In any case, it was tedious and somewhat annoying especially if you had just got off a long haul flight. First and business class passengers have priority and are called out to the front of the queue. So, being in economy, I waited grumpily in the queue with the rest of the great multitude.

image

After the checks, you head towards the stairs up to the main thoroughfare sandwiched between shops on both sides. That I guess is somewhat standard but then when this space seems less than six metres wide and there are throngs of people spilling onto it, you can guess what the outcome is. One word – CONGESTED!

image

It’s only after you leave the main section with the shops when it then gets spread out a bit. But that means you miss all the shopping. So being a balance between the two, you wade in and brave the crowds like a desperate last minute Christmas shopper. Fortunately, the only thing I was desperate for was a good strong cup of coffee. Jet lag getting to me and with another leg to go, I just needed a bit of get up and go.

image
A little bit of greenery at the end of the shopping section

Having got my fix, I just spent the remaining time just browsing and looking at cameras. Still can’t bring myself to get a DSLR. And then just like that, three hours came and went and it was time to board my flight to Frankfurt. Merry Christmas everyone and Happy Holidays!

image
It’s a big airport but it seems everyone is just in a narrow section of the airport

 

