image

They certainly know how to do christmas markets in Berlin. Arriving on my first night here, we decided to head out to the nearest one which is located just near the Zoological gardens where we stayed. You really can’t miss Weihnachtsmarkt if you are anywhere in the vicinity. Firstly, the towering Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church stands like a beacon.

image

Then the entire Breitscheidplatz between Kurfürstendamm and Zoologischer Garten is festively decorated including a Christmas Pyramid.

image

Finally the scent of sizzling bratwurst, smoked fish, roasted almonds and mulled wine complete the atmosphere and even in my jet lagged condition, I could not resist when wife said lets go out after dropping off my bags.

image

Working out the different sausages was a bit tricky as English was not spoken much. Most Aussies are familiar with the snag on a barbie so we simply went by the looks and smell. Really you could hardly go wrong. Our favourite was the one below. Firstly it was huge so even if the bread roll they gave us was small, don’t be deceived by how big this sausage was. It was also slightly spicy which is why we loved it.

image

Then there are also candied treats and sweet waffles for dessert but if food is not your thing, there are booths of colorful christmas decorations, traditional toys, winter clothes and beautifully crafted accessories to catch your attention. You could spend quite a bit of time here and it appears that is the case as there was a large weekend crowd. Being the first night, I was quite happy just to fill my stomach. Back at the hotel, I was jet lagged but looking forward to the next day in Berlin. The weather was promising to be good. In fact, better than I had expected of Berlin in winter. I guess I am lucky.

image

