I was really only in Frankfurt for a night to visit a friend before hopping onto my return flight to Melbourne. So, staying at the airport hotel seemed a logical choice despite the protestations of my friend who felt I would be much more comfortable in his home. But I had already booked and paid for a night at the Hilton Garden Inn at an Internet rate which was non-refundable.

image

I have not been to Frankfurt in a while and so the new building where the Hilton was located is entirely new. And I was impressed! The Squaire at New Work City is built over a a high speed train station that has a roof that is pretty jaw dropping. But even more so, at night when the sky is dark, the glass reflects off all the lights from the ground and makes the whole place light up in a rainbow of colours.

image

(Now if you are wondering about the names that look misspelt, I was too but I learnt that Squaire is a combination of square and air. Hmm. . . But New Work City? How would someone approve of a name like this. I think this one is almost indefensibly close to New York City.)

 

