Over Christmas, my son got for me a storm glass. When I first unwrapped it, I thought it was the most unusual thing I have ever got. A long tube with a liquid trapped inside and some crystals floating around. It looked like a decorative Christmas ornament. But upon reading the little leaflet that came with it, I realised it was also a most intriguing little thing. It was a “weather device” being able to forecast the weather depending on what the crystals were doing!

image

For instance, if there were large flaky crystals, it is telling you the skies will be cloudy. If the cyrstals are at the top, then thunderstorms are on the way but if the liquid is clear, then put away that umbrella and go out to enjoy the clear skies. Amazing and it doesn’t even need any batteries!

But recently, I noticed that nothing was changing that much in the storm glass. It was “stuck” on the same “reading” day after day. Just a bunch of small crystals at the bottom of the glass, no matter what the havoc the weather was wreaking outside.

image

Clearly, something was broken . . . .  Those crystals looked to be the likely culprit. They were not doing their job. But how do you repair something like a storm glass? Do I treat it like a tomato sauce bottle and just give it a good shake? For once, I wished there was a reset button somewhere. Or even an on off switch. That always works on the computer. So, I turned to Mr Googles (as we all do nowadays) and read somewhere that you “reset” a storm glass by heating it up to dissolve all the crystals and then allow it to settle to “restart”.

image

That sounded like a great idea. So I proceeded to borrow my wife’s hairdryer and amidst weird looks from her, switched it onto high heat and aimed it at the storm glass. To my delight, after a few minutes, it actually worked! All the “misbehaving” crystals dissolved leaving behind just a clear liquid.

image

Now I just have to set it aside and see what happens . . . . .

 

