I mentioned in my last post about the sunset at Princes Pier. In fact, I took a few more shots whilst I was there because Princes Pier is a historic pier. It has been restored now but the old pylons have been left in place which makes for some interesting shots.

image

image

Although originally 580 metres long, only 196 metres of the pier have been restored. The remainder had the decking removed and the original pylons left in place. Hence it appears to stretch towards the horizon like in the shot above.

image

The restored portion of the pier

image

Not far from Princes Pier is the departure point for the Spirit of Tasmania ferry that departs from Melbourne to Tasmania and back. It has the capacity to carry 1,400 passengers and a 1,000 cars. I have never been on it but it sounds like a great option if you love travelling with your car

image

After the sun had set, I took another shot of the pylons. They sure look different in the low light conditions. I can’t quite decide which is my favourite. For now I think it is the one above.

 

