I was lucky to have the company book for me a pickup at the airport. As with major airports around the world, there are usually a few options provided for visitors to help them get into town and normally I would have taken one of them. But since the company offered a pickup, I said sure, that would be a treat.

Otherwise, I would have had to work it out which includes begging my travel extraordinaire wife if she could. Even then, it could all go wrong when I get to Incheon Airport. As you may know, my poor sense of direction is a problem at times. My son never lets me forget the time we went to Sydney to join my wife who had arrived earlier for a conference. Despite clear instructions and my phone GPS, I still navigated us straight past the hotel, going off course for half a kilometer, before an emergency phone call to my wife, who was waiting for us, set us straight. The boy still reminds me of that today.

image

In my defense, I blame the GPS. You know how it takes forever sometimes to get a signal. So I thought we should start walking first to get a head start. And for some strange reason, the initial location showed us somewhere in Europe. (I reckon that’s when we used it last) And typical of Murphy’s Law, we got too much of a head start. So I was probably busy looking at the dumb GPS when we walked past the hotel!

image

But none of that was going to be a problem with an arranged pickup. And it was indeed a treat. I didn’t even have to switch my brain on. And there was a nice luxurious looking vehicle called the Equus waiting. Never seen one of them before. Best part of it, you are ushered into the back seat by the smartly dressed chauffeur and right next to you there’s a control panel of some sort that can just about do everything except drive the car.

image

You can control the music, the volume, the air-conditioning, recline your seat (yup!!) and then if you are not happy with your legroom, move the passenger seat in front of you forwards! Imagine that. Kids would be endlessly amused at the expense of anyone sitting in the front passenger seat. As the time it takes from Incheon Airport to Seoul takes almost an hour (depending on traffic), I had plenty of time to try them all out. The driver was probably thinking he had a five year old in the back seat.

