Realizing that many of the visitors seem to be headed towards left of the main palace, I did the same and came upon Sujeongjeon. Another grand looking and colorful palatial structure.

image

This entire building was used as the Kings bedroom in its time. Apparently it was during King Sejong’s reign (1418 to 1450) that in one of his inspired moments, he developed the Korean Hangul writing system right here. That period is famously known as the golden age of Korea.

image

Tonight, it appears that it has been turned into a stage flanked on both sides by colorful drums. There were also rows and rows of seats which were empty. I am guessing it will be completely filled when the show starts. As it was almost dark, I was guessing it is not far away.

image

Figuring I have yet to explore the grounds fully, I walked round the back of this building and came to a lake. Resting on it is spectacular Gyeonghoeru. Registered as a National Treasure, this pavilion is used to hold special banquets during the Joseon dynasty and as you would expect, Kings would go boating in summer.

image

Built on a man made lake, it is strikingly beautiful with its mirrored reflection. There were many photographers all lined up going for that perfect shot as the sun set but I reckon you can’t really go wrong here. Any shot would be postcard perfect. I easily must have taken dozens myself.

image

I walked further round the lake and took a few more photos from different angles when I heard music started to come from Sugjeongjeon. The show has begun! So, it quickly made my way back and as expected all the seats were full and there was only standing room only. By this time, I was beginning to regret not getting something to eat earlier. I was getting hungry! And then the show started with dancers filling the stage in what appeared to be a local Korean dance.

image

image

I happily snapped away again at the beautifully choreographed movements wishing I could have understood the Korean introduction given to the dancers. All the while, my stomach was complaining louder at being ignored. So, when the dance finished I reluctantly decided that I had to get something to eat. Looking around the area, there was absolutely nothing.

image

No cafes, food trucks or even a vending machine. I was clearly unprepared for this. Ultimately, I ended up walking out the way I came back to Gwanghamun gate. I knew that there were plenty of restaurants beyond the palace gates. After all, this is Seoul and there is plenty to eat.

