Before I finish up with my posts of the grandest palace, I thought I will share a few more photos from my night at Gyeongbokgung Palace in Seoul. As you can see, it is well worth a visit at night just to see the night time colours and highlights of the palace. The photos below are just of the main Throne Hall or Geunjeongjeon.

image
The main throne hall in Gyeongbokgung Palace used to host dignitaries. It is known as Geungjeongjeon. This is the west side of the structure.

 

image
When the King is on the throne, incense sicks will be burnt on these large bronze censers on the left and right of the palace.

 

image
Inside of Geunjeongjeon where the Kings throne can be seen

 

image
Two lovely Korean ladies who kindly allowed me to take a photo of them in their local costume. 

 

image
The surrounding courtyard around Geunjeongjeon.

 

image
The magnificent two tiered structure of Geunjeongjeon with steps leading up to the main entrance.

 

