image

Next to the Hero Admiral Yi, is another revered figure of Korean history. This is the great golden statue of King Sejong, the highly respected fourth King of the Joseon Dynasty.

image

I believe it was during his time when they call it the golden age in Korea. He was the driving force behind many inventions and in front of his statue, some of them are displayed such as the sundial, rain gauge and celestial globe. The hangeul alphabet was also created during his reign.

image

There is also a gallery nearby but you would have to come during the day to visit it. Which of course means I would have to skip showing up at work and my superiors would clearly frown upon unhappily. Anyway, if you get a chance, I am told that the gallery has lots more about the life and achievements on King Sejong including materials and artifacts. So, if you are interested in history, it would be worth a visit.

image

After a long day at work, and much of the night spent walking around, after this I decided to head back to the hotel. I was going to walk a bit and catch a taxi but then surprising to myself, the hotel was not that far away. It was just down this main stretch of road and eventually, I actually walked all the way back just enjoying the cool summer night of Seoul.

